Skip to content

How to find and select QuickBooks company files

File types for the conversion service

When sending a file for conversion, you can send any of three file types: A QuickBooks Company Backup file, a QuickBooks Portable Company file, or a QuickBooks Company File.

The results of your conversion will be the same no matter which of these file types are sent.

Sending a QuickBooks Company Backup File (*.qbb file) – preferred

A backup is slightly preferred and is often the easiest file type to send. Many customers regularly create backups. As you create a back up you can specify the backup file name and location.

Create a backup file by staring within QuickBooks with your file open and then pick File | Back Up Company  | Create a Local Backup.

Continue to name the file and select the location. Be aware as you do this and then later select that file to send.

Sending a QuickBooks Portable Company File (*.qbm file)

A portable file is created much like a backup file, but will be smaller.  It’s most useful if you have a large company file because it will upload faster. Like a backup, you can specify the file name and location as you create it.

Create a portable file by staring within QuickBooks with your file open and then pick File | Create Copy  and then pick Portable company file.

Continue to name the file and select the location. Be aware as you do this and then later select that file to send.

Sending a QuickBooks Company File (*.qbw file)

When sending a standard QuickBooks Company File directly, things can get a bit more confusing…

By default, Windows File Explorer’s option to hide known file extensions is enabled. It’s a rather awful option, likely designed to make Windows look more like a Mac. However, instead of making things easier, in many cases it makes it harder to understand what you’re looking at.

Further complicating things, each QuickBooks company consists of a main company file and several similarly-named auxiliary files that do not contain your financial data. They are basically throw-away files; when missing, QuickBooks will just re-create them as you open the company. Depending on the features you use, you will see between four and six or more of these similarly-named auxiliary files.

For even more excitement, when you create a new company file, by default QuickBooks puts the file where it wants it, which is often in what seems like a strange location compared to other file-based windows programs like Word or Excel.

To locate your company file.

In QuickBooks, pick File | Open Previous Company from the menu.

Your currently-open company will appear at the top of the list with its full path. Note the location and then go there using File Explorer (Windows Explorer in windows versions prior to 10.0).

When you open the folder where your QuickBooks Company is saved, you may see some files with extensions and some without:

Typical File Explorer view when hiding known file extensions:

  • The “QuickBooks Company File” extension (“.qbw”) is hidden, because it is known – registered by QuickBooks.
  • The “Data Source Name” extension (“.DSN”) is also hidden because its extension is known to Windows as an ODBC data source file –  which is actually what this QuickBooks file is.
  • When the DSN extension is hidden, it makes the DSN file look like a company file. But note the file Type and Size are wrong.
  • The other two file types are not known and show their extensions, ND and TLG.

Typical File Explorer view when showing known file extensions:

  • All the files show their full names and extensions.
  • The DSN and ND files share the entire Company File name including the extension – with an added extension.
  • The TLG file uses the Company File name with it’s own extension.

 

When sending a company file

  • Be sure the file Type is a “QuickBooks Company File” as seen above.
  • Turn off the option to hide file extensions. Here are steps:
    1. In File Explorer, pick Organize | Folder and Search options.
    2. Click on the View tab, then scroll down until you see the “Hide extensions for known file types” option and then remove the check-mark next to it: